It’s go time!

Well, almost.  I called the doctor’s office on Monday, October 8 and they agreed that we should go ahead and start with this period.  I started taking my stimulating injections on Wednesday, October 10.  I can’t believe how quickly this has gone.

Meds

I have been a little, no, a lot, aggrevated with the doctors during this process. At this morning’s appointment, I kind of unleashed on the nurse and let her know.

You see, when I came to this practice, I made sure I had all my records from the previous clinic, which included the protocol used for my first fresh IVF cycle. This is important because a lot of times you lose time and money by starting down a path with a protocol that is unsuccessful. Then you have to abandon that cycle and start all over again.

I figured if the doctor had my records from my first fresh cycle it would be helpful to going down the right path right from the start.

When he first gave me my calendar with my protocol, I noticed that it was lower than what we had done 4 years ago.  I questioned it and was told that they were looking for quality not quantity.

Throughout these days of stimulation, I kept questioning it. I figured we should be at least as, if not more, aggressive as we had been when I (and my eggs) was 4 years younger.

But they kept insisting that things were looking good and that as far as they could tell, this was a perfect cycle. I should be happy.

At today’s appointment, after they took blood work, I had my ultrasound. And as the tech was measuring follicles, I counted.  There were only 7.

With my first fresh cycle, I had 25 eggs at retrieval, 22 were mature, 19 fertilized. This afforded us the opportunity to do 4 frozen cycles after our initial fresh transfer.

Frozen embryo transfers are much less expensive and much easier on a woman’s body.

With only 7 follicles I was concerned about what that would mean for any future attempts.

But, the nurse told me not to lose hope yet. There was always the possibility that when I went in for the retrieval, there might be some hiding behind the ones they could see on ultrasound.

So now I go home and wait for them to call me and tell me when my retrieval is. And pray for more eggs.

About llipps

New mom, infertility survivor, marketer, wife, daughter and friend. I struggle to find the balance between being all things to all people and being happy with who I am. I love meeting new people, telling my stories, and hearing yours.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

