The embrace

The transfer went smoothly. They transferred 2 embryos, 1 was an 8 cell and 1 was a 5 cell.

I did find out afterwards that our other two fertilized embryos did not survive to freezing. So, these two embryos are our only chance.  If this does not work, there are no backups.

This news does not thrill me. It makes me further question why my doctor did things the way he did.

We went in this morning for my pregnancy test. I just had to have some blood drawn.

We also met with the doctor and voiced our concerns and and dissatisfaction with this cycle and how his office handled everything. He heard us out and understood and said that of course, we were all hoping to have positive news today.

We left the office with their assurances that we would be getting a phone call with the results ASAP.

We decided to run a few errands while we were out.

Shortly after we stepped into Giant Eagle my phone rang. I looked down and saw that it was the doctor’s office phone number.

Here we go. This is it.

I answered the phone with equal parts fear and hope in my heart.

The nurse (smartly) wasted no time in getting straight to the point. “Lilia, you’re pregnant. You had a great level of 587. Congratulations! We’ll see you in a week to do a follow-up level check.”

While she was talking I gave my husband the thumbs up. But at first, I don’t think he understood. I think he thought I was just letting him know that it was indeed them calling  me. So then I mouthed to him “it’s positive.”

I will never forget the next few moments. He started crying right away. My husband is not a man who cries easily or often. Once I hung up the phone, we embraced. We held each other so tightly and both wept tears of unbounded joy. There we were in Giant Eagle, halfway between the bakery and specialty cheese sections, hanging onto each other and crying and laughing and kissing. People stopped and looked at us. And I could not have cared less. We were absolutely in our own little bubble of happiness, on our own cloud.

We hurried up and grabbed the things we were there for and then got out of there. I called my mother to share the news and she followed suit with joyful tears of her own.

This is a good day in the Lipps household.

About llipps

New mom, infertility survivor, marketer, wife, daughter and friend. I struggle to find the balance between being all things to all people and being happy with who I am. I love meeting new people, telling my stories, and hearing yours.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

