What the F***

Excuse me, but there was no other way to title this post.

This morning we went in for our third ultrasound. We both were in a somber state of mind because we were prepared for the worst case scenario. Basically we were going to see how low the baby’s heart rate had dropped and decide there and then if I should have a d&c today.

We went back to the ultrasound room and waited for everything to be over.

I looked up at the screen and saw that there were still two sacs there.

I was surprised that twin B which hadn’t had a heartbeat at our first two ultrasounds hadn’t yet been absorbed back into my body.

I asked the ultrasound tech if there was still a heartbeat and she said “Yes, but they’re slow.”

I’m sorry, THEY? As in two?

Yes, in fact there were suddenly TWO heartbeats. One was 79 and one was 100.

Holy F$%&*#G S*^T Balls!

TWO heartbeats?

We went out into the waiting room to wait to speak to the doctor.

We were both dumbfounded and shell-shocked. We didn’t know what to think.

What did this mean?

We were called back to meet with the doctor. He told us that aside from the heartbeats, the babies had been measured. One was measuring 6 weeks 2 days and one was measuring 6 weeks 3 days.

Today I am 7 weeks 4 days. So the babies are measuring just over a week behind.

The doctor told us to be hopeful but realistic and remember that I am still high-risk for miscarriage.

So yeah.

Confused. That is our current status. How would you feel right now?

About llipps

New mom, infertility survivor, marketer, wife, daughter and friend. I struggle to find the balance between being all things to all people and being happy with who I am. I love meeting new people, telling my stories, and hearing yours.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

