The year of the…

Every New Year’s Eve, regardless of how we ring it in, Todd and I declare that the upcoming year will finally be “The Year of The Lipps.”

Every year we are hopeful about what the year ahead will bring. Obviously, being able to finally start a family is always at the top of the wishlist.

Thus far it hasn’t worked.

So this year, I am doing something new. I refuse to declare it the Year of the Lipps. Instead, it is just a new year. No expectations. No hopes.

I know that probably sounds sad, but really, it’s not.  I figure this way, anything good that does happen will be a happy surprise.

And really, despite the last couple of months, it’s not like I am not thankful for the blessings that were bestowed upon me this year.

All in all, my life doesn’t suck. I just have this one thing I am sad about. And the sad won’t be like this forever.

As for resolutions, I don’t know that I have ever kept one. I did lose weight this past year (35 lbs), but that wasn’t because of a resolution. So I won’t make any for the year ahead.  Here are some things I would like to do:

  • Try practicing yoga more
  • Lose the other 25 pounds
  • Write more
  • Think of a great way to celebrate my 10th wedding anniversary
  • Make my home more organized

That’s enough for now. The rest will come organically.

To all of you who are my friends, who have offered me support, or kind words, from the bottom of my heart, I thank you. I hope that the new year brings you everything you deserve and want. And if it doesn’t, know I will be there to offer you the same kindness you have shown me.

If you are reading this and we don’t know each other well, or maybe not at all, say hello. Reach out. And best wishes for a happy new year to you as well.

One thing I know for sure about the new year is that it will strengthen my bond and my closeness with my husband and our families. When nothing else seems to go right, that is a blessing I can always be thankful for.

Much love to anyone reading this. Hug your loved ones and take a moment to be thankful for them.

Peace out 2012

 

About llipps

New mom, infertility survivor, marketer, wife, daughter and friend. I struggle to find the balance between being all things to all people and being happy with who I am. I love meeting new people, telling my stories, and hearing yours.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The year of the…

  1. Happy New Year! I hope that 2013 is full of happiness and fun. xoxo

  2. I don’t think that letting go of expectations is a bad thing at all. In fact, I think it’s a more happy, hopeful and joyful thing to do. 🙂

  3. Wishing you and Todd a very blessed and happy new year. I hope it brings you loads of unexpected surprises. And congrats on the weight loss! What an amazing accomplishment!

Leave a Reply

