It’s a boy!

Or at least it would have been.

Today is one month since I had my D&C.

My husband asked me why I give so much meaning to dates.

For instance I was a little sad (ok, a lot sad) on New Year’s Eve because that would have marked the end of my first trimester. I would have started the new year being into my second trimester and being excited about the future.

Considering my D&C was only 3 weeks prior to that, it was hard not to think of it on that date.

Anyway, I had to remember when my D&C was because the doctor had told me that after 4 weeks I should call his office and see if they had any results from the tissue testing they had performed on the fetus.

So, I had it in my calendar to call today.

I called in the morning and left a message.

There is some turmoil going on at work, so I was focused on that and forgot about the doctor until he called me back at 3:30.

He told me that the test showed that there was a common abnormality, called a Trisomy 16. This is the leading cause of miscarriage.

The good news is that there was no evidence present to suggest that a future pregnancy could not be carried to term. I guess we call that the silver lining here.

And then he told me I was pregnant with a boy.

I probably could have done without that information. Every little detail, makes it all more real. Knowing it was a boy makes me feel like I am experiencing the loss all over again. Now I know I am mourning the loss of my little boy, not just some unknown entity.

Anyway, that’s today’s news.

Now we wait to hear if we get approved for a grant through UH for another cycle.

And we continue healing and putting the pieces back together.

As always, thank you for reading.

About llipps

New mom, infertility survivor, marketer, wife, daughter and friend. I struggle to find the balance between being all things to all people and being happy with who I am. I love meeting new people, telling my stories, and hearing yours.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

