Anyone Order the Eggs?

Wednesday, May 15, 2013

I was so nervous for today that I barely slept last night. At least most of it can be attributed to nerves. The nausea and bloated feeling probably played a supporting role as well.

We woke up at 6:15 with the goal of leaving by 6:45 and arriving at the doctor by 7:15.

My egg retrieval was scheduled for 8:30.

On the way, I called my mother, like I do every morning on my way to work. I made small talk and didn’t let on that I was doing anything out of the ordinary.

When we got to the doctor’s office we were taken back pretty much right away. I changed into the obligatory hospital gown, cap and booties. Then I answered a bunch of the standard questions.

IMG_1093

The IV was inserted and I was asked to go empty my bladder one last time.

Then I kissed my husband goodbye and walked into the operating room. They untied the back of my gown and asked me to climb up on the table. I lay down and I remember putting one leg up in a stirrup.

The anesthesiologist came over and injected something into my IV and told me I would be sleepy soon. That’s the last thing I remember.

Then I was awoke, in the recovery room, and instantly felt excruciating pain. They pushed some more narcotics and opiates through my IV, but it wasn’t helping. Finally they gave me a drug they usually give women who have had c-sections and that did the trick. It knocked me out.

Todd wasn’t there when I first got into the recovery room, like he usually is, and throughout all this, even when I passed out, they kept asking me if I knew where he was.

Really? The last time I saw him I was walking off into surgery. How would I know where he was?

Turns out he was in the waiting room. They never brought  him back and they never thought to check out there.

I got dressed and waited for the doctor to come back and talk to us.

When he did, he didn’t have good news.  They had only retrieved 4 eggs. FOUR.

I went from 25 eggs my first time, to 7 my last time to 4 this time.  See a trend?  As my age goes up, the number of eggs goes down.

The doctor said he was disappointed. I am beyond.

Now we wait for them to call us tomorrow and tell us how the eggs fertilized. Hopefully that at least will yield some good news.

Now, I am exhausted, and still in a lot of pain. I am going to bed so that I can go to work tomorrow and pretend nothing is wrong or out of the ordinary.

Having my loving husband (who made me perfect pancakes today) next to me will keep me from crying into my pillow as I worry about tomorrow’s phone call.

About llipps

New mom, infertility survivor, marketer, wife, daughter and friend. I struggle to find the balance between being all things to all people and being happy with who I am. I love meeting new people, telling my stories, and hearing yours.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

