The Transfer

Saturday, May 18, 2013

Embryo transfer day.

When we got there, I again changed into my hospital garb finery. And this is the day when Mr. Lipps gets to play along as well.

IMG_1139   IMG_1137

In the past, at the clinic I used to go to in Akron, they always prescribed 1 Valium, to be taken one hour prior to embryo transfer. I always thought this was genius because that little magic pill would mellow me the f**k out. And if you know me, I am not generally a very mellow person. So at my retrieval I mentioned that to my nurse and she said that she would check with the doctor but that it shouldn’t be a problem.  (Later that day she called and said they had phoned in a prescription to my pharmacy).

So today, I took said pill and it made me positively loopy and giggly.  My husband was kind enough to capture some of it on video.

Then the embryologist came in to chat with us. Of the two embryos that had continued to grow, one looked really great, the other one not as much. He said if we only had the 3-celled one to transfer he would say not to have much hope but since we had the other one as well, things looked good.

IMG_1156    IMG_1157

The transfer is pretty quick. Afterwards they have you lie down for 30 minutes, then you empty your bladder and are on your way.

We were off to go home and indulge in a little 3 day doctor-ordered bed rest.

About llipps

New mom, infertility survivor, marketer, wife, daughter and friend. I struggle to find the balance between being all things to all people and being happy with who I am. I love meeting new people, telling my stories, and hearing yours.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment