Concerts and Confirmations

Monday, June 10, 2013

As I mentioned, this past Sunday I went to a concert with my old friend Robyn. We’ve known each other since we were oh, about 6.  And we shared our middle school obsession with New Kids on the Block. Luckily, we favored different members of the band so it never got awkward.  That is who we went to see Sunday night.  What a great time.

But it was funny because we saw so many pregnant girls at the show.  To the point where we were pointing them out to one another, there were so many. And I so wanted to blurt out that I was one of those girls!

At the end of the night, we sat in her van in the parking lot of Perkins, where my car was, just chatting. She broached the topic of my infertility and asked if we knew when we would be doing IVF again.  I know she wasn’t prying, just genuine friendly care, concern and curiosity.  And again, I wanted to tell her.

But, it wasn’t time yet.

On Friday, two days prior, we had gone back to the doctor for our second blood test.  The numbers looked good, which of course is a positive sign. But I’ve been here before.  I have to wait to see what the heartbeat is like at the first ultrasound.

Four days until that. I am both excited and terrified.

About llipps

New mom, infertility survivor, marketer, wife, daughter and friend. I struggle to find the balance between being all things to all people and being happy with who I am. I love meeting new people, telling my stories, and hearing yours.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

