Telling the Parents…

Sunday, June 16, 2013

Wow, what a weekend.  First of all, Happy Father’s Day. And what a happy one for us and our families.

Let’s back up to Friday. Todd and I went to the doctor for our first ultrasound. This is when we were going to get to hear the baby’s heartbeat for the first time.

To say I was terrified is a massive understatement. Just under 7 months ago I was going in for this same appointment. The results of that appointment, and subsequently that pregnancy, were devastating.

It was great that my blood work numbers had been positive thus far. But ultimately, that didn’t matter if the heartbeat didn’t support the numbers.

So there we were, sitting in the waiting room, both full of emotion but too scared to speak our thoughts out loud.

When they called us back, I am pretty sure I took longer on that short walk than I ever had.  This was IT. If things were bad, we would cry, we would mourn and we would be DONE. No more chances, no more tries, no more hope.

The tech was very quick this time. She went about her measurements and then told us that the heartbeat was 117 and to please have a seat in the waiting room until the nurse called us back.

Happy, confused and with tears running down our faces, we waited. When she called us back, all she said was congratulations, time for you guys to find a new doctor.

At first I didn’t understand. But she explained that their job was to get us pregnant. Once we were, it was time to start seeing an OBGYN. We had never “graduated” from the fertility doctor before. I couldn’t believe it.

We went home and agreed that now, now that we had heard a good heartbeat, and that they felt good enough about the viability of our pregnancy to “release” us, it was finally time to tell our parents. It was still early, I was only 6 weeks, 3 days, but we wanted to share the news with our family.

So, on Friday night, under the pretense that we wanted to give my stepdad his father’s day present that night since we wouldn’t see him on Sunday, we headed over to my mother’s house.

I was so nervous. I wanted to just blurt it out.  Some of this is in Russian, but you will still get the gist of it.

Telling my mom was a biggie. She, perhaps more than anyone else, has been right there on this journey with us. It felt awesome to give her good news.

Fast forward to today; Father’s Day!!!

We met my dad and little sister at Red Lobster (his favorite restaurant). We played it cool. I handed him a card that had a picture of a license plate on it that says grandpa. Check out my little sister’s face; she gets it much faster than dad did.

Next, we were off to spread our merry brand of sunshine to Todd’s parents.  Todd was very creative in his approach to this, creating a card with clues similar to a game the 4 of us like to play called Smartass.

What an amazing day!

It still feels surreal and it is still early and we are all still cautiously happy.

But we are happy. So happy.

About llipps

New mom, infertility survivor, marketer, wife, daughter and friend. I struggle to find the balance between being all things to all people and being happy with who I am. I love meeting new people, telling my stories, and hearing yours.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Telling the Parents…

  1. Hillary says:

    I was waiting to read any of your new blog until I had adequate time to read the posts to date all at once, however I couldn’t pass this one. So, now that I am in bed with teary eyes, it’s your fault if I’m late meeting your sister for our walk to class. Baby Lipps.

Leave a Reply

