Wish Upon A…

Tuesday, January 21, 2014

So listen, for those of you who know me well, it comes as no surprise that I have had a really hard time accepting/believing that this whole baby thing is really happening.

I mean logically, or intelligently, I know it is happening.

I go to the (now weekly) ultrasounds. I even put together a flipagram of all the images from these appointments. http://flipagram.com/f/XLLgMTuIGh

We have put together a nursery, which I am in love with.

I had two lovely showers.

And of course, there is all the peeing, the heartburn and this little girl kicking me and doing barrel rolls inside my body.

Yes, all these things make it real. But still, I have a hard time believing it.

One of the first things that made it really real was a much smaller little thing.

You know all those occasions on which you can make a wish? Like throwing a penny into a fountain, or on a shooting star, or at 11:11 or on a fallen eyelash? Well for years now, every time one of these opportunities presented itself, or we manifested them, we both would wish for the same thing: a baby.

We never wavered from that wish. It didn’t sometimes switch to the shiny new cell phone or designer purse. Or even, in more serious times, for a new job.

No, our wish was always the same. We just wanted a baby.

Well, the first time we got a chance to make a wish, after accepting that this baby was happening, we both looked at each other like what now?

It hit us that we were finally getting what we had spent over 9 years wishing for.

I’m not going to blow smoke up your ass and tell you that all of your wishes will come true. But, it never hurts to make a wish and blow on an eyelash. So, no reason to stop wishing!

About llipps

New mom, infertility survivor, marketer, wife, daughter and friend. I struggle to find the balance between being all things to all people and being happy with who I am. I love meeting new people, telling my stories, and hearing yours.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

