Half-birthdays and time flying

Holy crap. At 8:05 p.m. tonight, my baby will be 6 months old.

The last 6 months have been a whirlwind of love, laughter, tears and milestones.

We have experienced her first laugh (on my birthday, as if a gift for me), her rolling over (on her 4 month birthday), her eating solids, her first time (and many subsequent times) in a swimming pool, and now her initial attempts at crawling.

You always hear that when it comes to kids they grow up so fast that if you blink you’ll miss it. I cannot believe she is already 6 months old. The little tiny baby phase was over SO fast.

I remember that when I had the postpartum depression in those first few weeks, my husband and my mom were really upset, worrying that I would be kicking myself for missing out on those precious week with Madeline. It was time that I would never get back. They made me “fake it until I make it.” They made me hold Maddie and change her diaper and feed her. And even though in those moments, through the lens of depression, I didn’t feel as if I was bonding with her, I am so grateful to them for making sure I had that time with her.

I’m a little wistful thinking of her growing up. I know that we will likely not experience this ever again and so I want each moment to last as long as it can. I look forward to her future milestones, but I am also a little sad as each one happens and puts her further and further from being my little tiny baby.

But I will tell you this, as someone who has had trouble with doing this, babies really make you understand the importance of being in the moment and being present in the present.

Todd and I often just sit and watch her and revel in her smile, her giggles and her discovery of the world around her.

Happy 6 months to my sweet, beautiful, funny and full of personality Madeline Kaylea Lipps. Mommy and daddy love you more than words can say.

About llipps

New mom, infertility survivor, marketer, wife, daughter and friend. I struggle to find the balance between being all things to all people and being happy with who I am. I love meeting new people, telling my stories, and hearing yours.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

