My Toddler’s Secret Life

I know that in every child’s life, there comes a time when they start keeping secrets from their parents. I just figured that time would come closer to when they are 18 YEARS old, not 18 MONTHS old.

My 18 month old, Madeline, started daycare last Thursday. Up until now she has been cared for either in our home, or in someone else’s home. During that time, I have been fortunate enough to get pictures and updates throughout the day. This served two purposes: 1) It helped me miss her a little less and; 2) I knew what was going on with her every day.

So last Thursday, Madeline started at a proper daycare. It is part of a church, less than a mile from our house. They are a 5 star certified Step Up to Quality daycare. They focus on multiple aspects of a child’s development and actually teach them, even at Maddie’s age. They don’t, however, send pictures or updates throughout the day.

But, given as it was her first couple of days last week, when Todd dropped her off, he was told we could call and check up on her. So I called mid-morning on Thursday and was told that she cried for about 20 minutes after her daddy left, and didn’t eat much breakfast because she was too upset. However, the little kids in her class (which range from 18 months to 36 months) were all trying to comfort her. She eventually stopped crying and started playing a bit. According to her teacher, Miss Carol, overall a decent first day.

On Friday, I wasn’t going to call because I didn’t want to be too intrusive and be THAT mom. But when both my mom and husband texted me asking if I had checked in on her, I figured I might as well.

I was told that that morning she had only cried for 2 minutes after Todd left and that she had eaten a good breakfast. And that since then she had been playing and having fun. The director of the school told me that she already had a few girlfriends that she was playing with. But, and this is in her words, “even more so, she has some boyfriends. Oh yes, boys are tripping over themselves to get to her. The way some of them are looking at her, they’re going to come to school with a ring.” BOYFRIENDS. RINGS.

And that’s when I realized, my daughter was about to embark on a whole new life, that I would know very little, or nothing about.

Friends and Boyfriends
Who are these new little people that are now part of her everyday life? I haven’t had a chance to run a background check on them or their parents. Do they have good manners or are they little thugs? Do they drink, do drugs? Who is the alpha in the group? Is Maddie a leader or a follower when she is with them? How does she interact with them? I DON’T KNOW!!!

Vocabulary
Before having kids, I always thought it was funny how when little kids started talking, only their parents could understand them and translate for everyone else. Madeline has always been a little advanced in her language skills and to stay on top of her growing vocabulary, Todd and I have a shared Google Doc where we update her vocabulary every time she says a new word. Well, this weekend, she was saying some new things, and we had no idea what they were. And they were real words, we just have no clue where/how/why she learned them and why she is saying them. Like “moose” or was it “mousse”? I DON’T KNOW!!!

I’m sure there’s more to write about her secret life, but….you guessed it, I DON’T KNOW!!!

This growing up thing is hard. On me.

You better believe when I pick her up today I’m going to be making direct eye contact with those little boys and sending them the direct message that they better back off. No secret boyfriends until she’s a teenager!

Which at this rate, feels like it will be next week.  Sad panda.

About llipps

New mom, infertility survivor, marketer, wife, daughter and friend. I struggle to find the balance between being all things to all people and being happy with who I am. I love meeting new people, telling my stories, and hearing yours.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Toddler’s Secret Life

  1. HappyFamily says:

    I had the same issue when our daughter went to school. I went to having camera’s in our house so I could get my fix if I needed it and got adorable photos from our nanny. After a year at school I realized it was one of the best decisions for us. Best of luck.

Leave a Reply

