Toddler Year 2: Happy Birthday Madeline

Today my daughter is 2.

Two!

Oh it’s so painfully cliche to say that the time has flown by and I can’t believe it. BUT I CAN’T! I REALLY CAN’T!

So much has changed in the last year.

When she turned one, she could say about 4 or 5 words. Todd and I counted and tracked every new word she said. No really, we had a shared Google Doc that we would update with new words. Now, she doesn’t shut up. Seriously. She talks in full, often complex sentences. She asks so many questions. She sings songs. Her vocabulary is ridiculous. And she is a sponge, so we definitely have to be more careful than ever about what we say around her.

She is funny. And she knows when she is being funny. Because she’ll tell you. “Mommy, I funny!”

She is defiant. She has a particular gleam in her eye when she looks at you as she is about to do something she knows she is not supposed to do. It’s like she is daring me to stop her. It is during these moments when my mom most often exclaims that Madeline really is my daughter.

She’s tall! She’s always been tall but she really looks like such a big kid now. We don’t have the official numbers until we go to the doctor tomorrow, but we’re thinking about 3 ft.

She has a mind like a steel trap. She remembers EVERYTHING. About a month ago I taught her to say “take a chill pill Maddie.” We haven’t repeated it since. Suddenly a couple of days ago we’re driving, and out of the back seat I hear “I need to take a chill pill!” And she did need to.

In another instance we were driving and she was kicking the back of my seat. Todd turned around and yelled at her, something he rarely does. She was quiet for a minute and then bursts out with “daddy’s a punk!”

All we can do is laugh.

Although mommy is still her stylist, she has definitely started developing strong opinions about what she wants to wear. And as soon as she’s dressed, she exclaims “I need to look in the mirror!” followed closely by “I look pretty mommy.” I love the confidence.

She loves her family and is always asking about one family member or another. Her grandparents (and Aunt Michelle) are her best friends.

Her second year of life was definitely more difficult on mom and dad than year one. New challenges to navigate, new behaviors to interpret. But also, new conversations and new laughs.

One thing that hasn’t changed is how in love we are with our girl. She is our miracle baby, and she is so much more than we could have ever hoped for. She is beautiful, smart, funny, kind and a STRONG personality.

So, we’ll take on the challenges because we would never trade this for anything.

Happy happy birthday to our sweet Madeline Kaylea Lipps.

Mommy and daddy love you very much.

P.S. Can you please grow some more hair? Please and thank you.

About llipps

New mom, infertility survivor, marketer, wife, daughter and friend. I struggle to find the balance between being all things to all people and being happy with who I am. I love meeting new people, telling my stories, and hearing yours.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

